Sunday, July 14, 2024


History Of University of Isfahan

One of the oldest Iranian institutions of higher education, University of Isfahan was established in 1946. During 1950-1958, the university was developed by the establishment of the faculties of Medical Science and Pharmacy.

While the first board of trustees was formed, the university played an outstanding role in popularizing and learning social sciences and humanities in Iran by establishing the faculties of Literature and Foreign Languages including the departments of Persian Language and Literature, English, French, Armenian Language, Arabic, Geography, History, and Social Science from 1958 to 1968.

Faculties of Administrative Sciences and Economics, Faculty of Dentistry, Institute of Horticulture Science, and Faculty of Education including the departments of Philosophy and Psychology were the next faculties and institutes established from 1969 to 1976.

History Of University of Isfahan 

After the Islamic revolution in Iran in 1979, the higher education system evolved and from 1979 to 1986 the faculties of Medical Science (Healthcare, Nursing, Medicine, Pharmacy, and Dentistry) were transferred to Isfahan University of Medical Science. The faculty of Foreign Languages was also separated from the Faculty of Literature and Foreign Languages as an independent Faculty.

From 1986 to 1996, the university was developed further by establishing the faculties of Physical Education, Sciences, and Engineering.

From 1996 to 2010, while the university entered the new millennium, virtual learning was started and developed in many courses. Faculties of Advanced Sciences and Technologies, Theology, Transportation Engineering, Geographical Sciences and Planning were also established during this period.

History Of University of Isfahan 

From 2010 to 2021, two new campuses were established in Khansar and Shahreza. Faculties of Civil Engineering and Transportation, Biological Science and Technology, Mathematics and Statistics, Chemistry, Physics, and Computer Engineering were also established during this period.

Today, University of Isfahan counts 17000 students, 56 scientific associations, 6 centers of excellence, 10 research institutes and research centers, 35 active research groups, more than 200 training and research laboratories in addition to the central laboratory, 40 technology and knowledge-based units, 9 libraries and reading rooms in addition to the central library, more than 1000 published articles and books nationally and internationally, and more than 250 memorandums of understanding and agreements on scientific and educational cooperation with international organizations, foreign universities and research centers in Europe, Asia, North and South America, and Africa.

University of Isfahan seeks to develop cooperation with representatives of scientific and academic communities, universities, and public and private organizations around the world. The doors of Isfahan University are open to overseas applicants, students, interns, and lecturers.

Isfahan University
Address: Isfahan, Azadi square, University of Isfahan         Postal Code: 8174673441
E-mail: |
Headquarters: +98-313-7932003-7
Fax: +98-313-6687396
Powered by DorsaPortal